Sequoia

Even though my current situation is really stressful, that didn’t stop me from having the time of my life in Sequoia National Park.

We left home around three in the morning. It was a little early but I’m used to that time. I was so excited I don’t even know how I slept the night before. Once in the road it seemed so much more real. We stopped only once maybe an hour before we got there for food and gas. The city that we stopped in was called Porterville and it was the cutest little thing.

Sadly, a city close to Sequoia was experiencing a fire, it had been contained but the gloom of the smoke was slow to leave and lingered in the air even once we were up there.

It was my fourth time being there but that didn’t stop me from being flabbergasted by the marvelous beauty of the Sequoia trees. Also the green that surrounds the whole place is spectacular to see.

We had trouble finding parking, mainly because it was Labor Day weekend and it was pretty packed, but once we did we headed to Lodgepole to take a trail and see River Tokopah Falls. Since my mom couldn’t walk so much we took many breaks but she did get close enough to see the falls even though she didn’t make it to the top.

Of course, being there in person it’s so much prettier. It started to rain on and off at the beginning of the trail but we powered through. It seemed the rain was harder at the very top and that’s very logical since it was at a higher elevation.

After that we headed to the Sherman tree, earths largest tree…by volume. Was actually expecting it to be bigger but it was still pretty awesome.

If I wanted to hug it, it would probably take about 20 of me to wrap my hands around it.

Even though we were tired from walking almost ten miles we still had the will power to go to Moro rock. My mom stayed in the car since she said she had enough of nature for one day and felt satisfied but also exhausted. I love Moro rock but the climb was pure hell. 350 steps or so.

From there you can pretty much see all the Sierra Nevada mountains. We stayed there for only a couple of minutes. My brother got “allergies” but I know that he doesn’t like hikes but I’m proud that he even made it up there since last time he went he just walked up and came straight back down.

Over all it was a great experience. My next gaol would be to go camping there. Of course I also want to explore Kings canyon, Yosemite, and other parts of the Sierra Nevada mountains. What can I say I love trees and the wilderness! I was hopping to see bears but didn’t. The most ferocious animal we saw were deers. I can’t wait to go back.

r

