DACA

Even though I’m having fun and enjoying life (reuniting with friends and going to Sequoia) I can’t help but have this feeling at the bottom of my stomach. And no it’s not because of the low amount of sleep I’ve been getting. It’s the fear of losing everything.

I know many people worry about losing their jobs, their family, and maybe even their life. But what if you had to lose all of that by a decision made by another person? A person who didn’t even know what you were going through? Or all the good that you have done?

On September 5th The president of the United States will give a final decision on DACA. (Differed action for Childhood Arrivals). This was an executive order given by Obama when he was president. The purpose? In the simplest of terms, it gives protection to young adult immigrants from deportation since they were brought to America when they were young and had no say.

Some of these people have no recollection of even being any where else. They were brought her to this country as children even babies and had no choice. So why would they be at fault to be thrown out of the country? A country that they have made their own. This is their home. They don’t know anywhere else.

Just imagine for a second that it was you? Imagine you grew up in this marvelous country but yet have no legal status? It wasn’t your fault? At the age of one year and a half did you agree to come here? What papers did you sign? None, because you were brought her against your will by your parents. Well, basically you didn’t have a will because you didn’t even know there were borders.

Thanks to this program thousands of young dreamers have benefited from having legal status. They went to school, got jobs, and have been contributing to the economy. If they were cut from this privilege what would happen to the economy?

I have benefited from this great program for four years now. When I heard Trump was going to remove it when he was campaigning last year that was sorta of my down fall. How will I take care of my mom? How will I pay for her breast cancer treatments? How will I put food in the fridge for my younger brother who is still in high school and is a citizen of this country? Will we get separated just because we were born in different countries? How would you feel if they took your sister or brother away from you thousands of miles away just because they weren’t born in the same place as you? What about the bills? Rent? What if I get thrown out of this country to one where yes, I was born in, but know nothing of? And my mother and brother? Who will fend for them?

I hope and pray that President Trump does not end this program. That he leaves it as is or makes it better. There are people that have much more dependents than I do. They need their jobs. And it would just be a shame to through four years of progress down the drain.

More information:

Boston Globe

CBS News

USA Today

CNN

