Shin Splints 

            I love running. Especially outside. I’ll admit I did want a treadmill once, but that desire faded away as soon as I saw how nice and beautiful it is to breathe the fresh air outside. 

            Running for me is such a good way for me to relive my stress. To let everything go with every single footstep I place on the ground. My lungs fill up with new air as worries and problems get exhaled and left behind. My mind travels to places that my feet can’t go while music flows through my ears right into my soul. 

            So what happens when that is taken away from you? Tragedy. Ok maybe that’s a little too dramatic. But for me knowing I can’t run for a while is nearly devastating. 

            Let me explain. So basically what happened as I hiked up my usual mountain today in the early morning is that my shins failed me. That bone that runs from your knee to your foot? Yeah that one! The middle part of my shin, the inner part, was hurting like HELL. On both feet! 

            Turns out it’s called shin splints. And it’s actually really common in runners. Well, runners that are very unbalanced. Which I suppose, I am. I have to take the blame on this one (obviously) and say that it’s my fault. I have had minor pain in the same location but had ignored it. I just thought it was sore. But you should never ignore your body! I just learned that today. 

            If I would have listened to my body and investigated this sooner I probably would have fought this early on and would have just cooled down my runs. Now I’m left to stop running completely for a week or so while it heals up. 


            I bought some athletic tape and some neoprene sleeves for both legs. I also placed a cold pad on them for a little while. The pain has gone away, but that doesn’t mean that it’s healed. When I apply pressure it feels like agony. 



            My mom told me that I should cool it down when I run. But I don’t even run that intense. I think it’s just that I stopped so long ago then testarted a long while after and my body was just like WTF Dude? You know? 

            For now all I’m left with is yoga. I tried it once, but didn’t have the patients for it. I’m going to give it another try and see how it goes. Maybe it will calm and relax me in a different way? I’ll do anything right now, don’t have any other options of exercise, other than weights and I do that already. 

Leave a Reply

