I’m Grateful 

Good morning Journal, 

      I have noticed that my entries have been rather depressing. And though I can make a million excuses upon how it’s not my fault it’s the way life has been treating me, it wouldn’t make up for the way I see things. I was thinking that, yes, things have been bad lately but why not be greatful for the little things that have happened? 

      First off,  the most important thing I’m grateful for is my mother, she has been there with me through thick and thin and has always been by my side. She has made me the person I am today. And even though we are going through this (even if she doesn’t deserve to go through it) it will make us stronger. Our bond will grow and we will get to know ourselves better. 

      I’m grateful for the times I’ve spent with my family. Granted it hasn’t been much and the times have been hard. But those moments when we were together and nothing seemed to faze us, I’m grateful for those. For the little moments that we only saw each other. When we were in our own little world and nothing could touch us, we were untouchable. I’m grateful for those moments  because those moments give me strength to go on. They make me want to have more of those moments more often. 

      I’m also grateful for my heart. I know I can be a little brat, but I’m so thankful that I didn’t end up like the rest of this crappy world (mama raised me right). I care. Yes, I care about other people. Do I know them? No. But I care. I care for my friends. I care for my coworkers. I care. And I’m grateful for that. Sometimes it hurts me but who would I be if I was always going about my day like I didn’t give a fuck? I’m grateful I’m not that kind of person. 

      I’m grateful for everything I have. It may not be much but that’s ok. Not having much has taught me that earning things by your own sweat and tears feels better than to just be handed something. For fighting for what you want and not just take it. I’m grateful for that. 

     I’m grateful for my values and morals. Without them, would I even be human? 

      I know I don’t have much, but I’m grateful for the things that I do. And, honestly, I don’t think I need anything else.
 

3/29/2017

